History of Aubie


The original Aubie in overalls at a football game
The original Aubie cheering on the Tigers

Aubie, Auburn University's tiger mascot, serves as the spirit leader and goodwill ambassador for Auburn University. A popular character among Auburn fans and one of the most animated mascots in the country, Aubie is the living spirit of Auburn.

Aubie's existence began as a cartoon character that first appeared on the Auburn/Hardin-Simmons football program cover on October 3, 1959. Birmingham Post-Herald artist Phil Neel created the cartoon Tiger who continued to adorn Auburn program covers for 18 years.

Aubie's look on the programs changed through the years. In 1962, he began to stand upright and the next year, 1963, he wore clothes for the first time (a blue tie and straw hat). Aubie's appearances on game programs proved to be somewhat of a goodluck charm for Coach Ralph "Shug" Jordan's teams. The Tigers were victorious in the first nine games he graced the cover and in his first 6 years, Auburn posted a 23-2-1 home record. Auburn's home record during the 18 years Aubie served as Cover Tiger was 63-16-2. Aubie's regular appearance on the game program cover ended on October 23, 1976, when Auburn downed Florida State, 31-19, but Aubie was called back onto the cover for three special Iron Bowl appearances: the 1987 game (November 27, 1987) in Birmingham, celebrating and commemorating the 40th renewal of the modern Auburn-Alabama series, the 1989 game (December 2, 1989) celebrating the Tide's "first time ever" trip to Auburn, and in 1991 when Auburn played its final "home game" in Birmingham's Legion Field (November 30, 1991)

The original Aubie with hands in the air
The orginal Aubie celebrating a touchdown

In 1979, Aubie came to life at the Southeastern Conference basketball tournament. James Lloyd, Auburn spirit director for the Student Government Association, with help from the Alumni Association, contacted Brooks-Van Horn Costumes in New York, N.Y. The Company was provided with copies of the 1961 Auburn-Alabama and 1962 Auburn-Georgia Tech game programs to use for reference in creating a costume of the cartoon character. The firm, which also provided costumes for Walt Disney, designed and produced a Tiger costume for $1,350. Individual contributions from various Auburn clubs, alumni and friends helped pay for the first costume.

Aubie proudly marched into the Birmingham-Jefferson County Civic Center on February 28, 1979, and helped lead first-year Auburn coach Sonny Smith's team to an upset of Vanderbilt in his first appearance as a live Tiger mascot. The following day, Aubie returned to the arena and the Tigers surprised Georgia in the longest game in SEC tournament history, four overtimes. Before the weekend was complete, Aubie helped lead the ninth-place team in the regular season to the semifinals of the tournament.


Today, Aubie proudly supports all Auburn University athletic teams and continues to enjoy every Auburn tradition from the Tiger Walk to the flight of the eagle to the rolling of Toomer’s Corner. It is often said Women love him, Children adore him, and Men want to be him. Aubie the Tiger is Often Imitated but Never Duplicated.


1991, 1995, 1996, 1999, 2003, 2006, 2012, 2014, 2016, 2021 & 2024

2006 - First Collegiate Inductee
2022 - Best In-Game Skit
2023 - Best In-Game Skit, Best Video Short



February 1979 James Lloyd
1979 - 1980 Barry Mask, Bob Harris, Viki McGinty Woerner
1980 - 1981 Jim Mayo, Danny Richards, J.T. Thomas
1981 - 1982 Danny Richards, Mike Loncono, Greg O'Neil
1982 - 1983 James Taylor, Mike Irwin, Bart Harmon
1983 - 1984 Mark Loveless, Jimmy Graves, Greg Stone
1984 - 1985 Ken Cope, David Barrett, Cark Gleghorn
1985 - 1986 Jack Clark, Warren Weeks, Jef Arnold
1986 - 1987 Randy Davis, Rob Jameson, Laurence Cartledge
1987 - 1988 Rob Jameson, Troy Howard, Andy Sokol
1988 - 1989 Troy Howard, Michael Jernigan, Walter Ownbey
1989 - 1990 Bob Short, Chris Wood, David Derrer
1990 - 1991 Chris Wood, Michael Jernigan, Rob Thompson
1991 - 1992 David Reynolds, David Harvey, Tim Jordan
1992 - 1993 Harry Heigl, Tim Arnold, Eric Langley
1993 - 1994 Eric Langley, Tim Arnold, Trey Humphreys
1994 - 1995 Trey Humphreys, Mike Murphy, Billy Stephens
1995 - 1996 Billy Stephens, Mike Griffin, Josh Agerton
1996 - 1997 Josh Agerton, Eric Krausse, Brannon McKim
1997 - 1998 Eric Krausse, Brannon McKim, J.G. Carver
1998 - 1999 J.G. Carver, Jeff Holoman, Justin Moore
1999 - 2000 Jeff Holoman, Joel Darby, JD Simpson
2000 - 2001 Joel Darby, Damian Shephard, Drew Rodgers
2001 - 2002 Drew Rogers, Taylor Griswold, Jeremy Legg
2002 - 2003 Taylor Griswold, Jeremy Legg, Trey Mock
2003 - 2004 Trey Mock, Matt Grainger, Chris Keenan
2004 - 2005 Chris Keenan, Matt Grainger, Evan Thomas
2005 - 2006 Evan Thomas, David Smith, Chris Delvizis
2006 - 2007 Chris Delvizis, Shelton Tate, Justin Shugart
2007 - 2008 Justin Shugart, Michael Young, Brandon Bodie
2008 - 2009 Michael Young, Brandon Bodie, Tyler Weldon
2009 - 2010 Tyler Weldon, Andy Gilliom, Logan Matthews, Matthew Layton
2010 - 2011 Logan Matthews, Matthew Layton, Will Noel
2011 - 2012 Will Noel, Peyton Alsobrook, Kameron Kendrick
2012 - 2013 Peyton Alsobrook, Martin Pursell, Daniel Toner
2013 - 2014 Martin Pursell, Daniel Toner, Connor Sharpton
2014 - 2015 Micah Mills, John O'Neil, John Nunez
2015 - 2016 John O'Neil, John Nunez, Kevin Bryant, Hunter Jordan
2016 - 2017 Hunter Jordan, Jake Cunningham, David Monte, Jared Long
2017 - 2018 Jake Cunningham, David Monte, Jared Long, Brent Warr
2018 - 2019 Brent Warr, Daniel Bayer, Miller Parker, Gary Gray
2019 - 2020 Daniel Bayer, Miller Parker, Jackson McCrary, Bowman Hill
2020 - 2021 Jackson McCrary, Bowman Hill
2021 - 2022 Bowman Hill, Brody O'Brian, Riley Myers, ??
2022 - 2023 Brody O'Brian, Riley Myers, ??, ??