The Algernon Sydney Sullivan Award

Each year, Auburn University recognizes the efforts of three outstanding individuals who represent our institution through their unsurpassed humanitarian leadership and contributions to the community.  Eligible recipients of the Algernon Sydney Sullivan Award include one male and one female student from the 2025 graduating class as well as one non-student member of the campus community.

Faculty, students, staff, alumni, and friends of the University are encouraged to nominate individuals they believe are deserving of this prestigious honor.

Nomination packets should include:

  • letter of nomination
  • resume or curriculum vitae
  • newspaper articles or other appropriate documentation that demonstrate their humanitarian leadership and contributions to the community

Nominations for the 2025 awards will open in fall 2024.

Instructions for submitting nomination packets will be posted here when available.

Professor Sean Forbes, President Chris Roberts and Juan Luis Contreras
Professor Sean Forbes, President Christopher B. Roberts and Juan Luis Contreras.

The 2024 Algernon Sydney Sullivan Award recipients are pre-medicine student Juan Luis Contreras from the College of Sciences and Mathematics and faculty member Sean Forbes, professor of educational psychology in Auburn University's College of Education. For more information or questions regarding nominations please email