Auburn University Spirit of Excellence Award

PDWG seeks to provide recognition opportunities for staff members’ hard work within Student Affairs. The committee oversees the Student Affairs Awards nominations and selection process.  Additionally, PDWG manages the nominations process for submitting Student Affairs staff members as potential recipients for the university-wide Spirit of Excellence Award each month. PDWG invites you to nominate a colleague for the Auburn University Spirit of Excellence Award. Please submit your nominations to Trey Lightner by the 10 of each month by emailing him a completed version of this nomination form.  PDWG will review all nominations and submit a nominee, from each of the appropriate personnel categories to AU HR.  The award categories include: Service/Maintenance; Secretarial/Clerical; Technical; and Administrative/Professional.

Student Affairs Award Program

Student Affairs awards will be presented at the end of the academic year at the Spring Summit and are intended to recognize employees who have demonstrated excellence in performing their jobs as well as showing great teamwork and collaboration with others.

Any Student Affairs employee can submit a nomination form for someone they think should be considered for an award. Award nominations forms should be filled via our online submission form in Qualtrics or via email. All handwritten submissions should be fully completed and legible. All submissions are due to the Student Affairs HR Manager, electronic or via email, no later than the second week of April and should include the accomplishments of the employee that justify the award they are being nominated for. The nominee forms will be presented to a committee made up of employees who are not assigned to Student Affairs but may have knowledge of the Student Affairs mission. The HR Manager will also be part of the committee but only as the facilitator and serves as an ex officio member.

The Senior Vice-President of Student Affairs or his/her designee will present the Student Affairs awards at the Spring Summit.

Click here for the Student Affairs Awards Descriptions and printable forms.

All submissions are encouraged through the online Qualtrics form

Please contact Trey Lightner at with any questions.

2020-2021 Award Recipients

Legacy of Success: Billy Ferris, Student Media

Outstanding Support Staff: Sue Walker, Greek Life

Outstanding Service Staff: Property Management Services

Mover & Shaker: Nathan Maddox, Student Counseling & Psychological Services

Campus Partner: Student Conduct and Greek Life

Program Administrator: Shelby Flores, Health Promotion & Wellness Services

Outstanding Division Partnership: Auburn University Medical Clinic

Service to Students: Hannah Gerken, Student Involvement

Commitment to Culture and Care: Alonzo Cee, Student Involvement

Rookie of the Year: Keegan Ashbee, Campus Recreation

Unsung Hero: Missy Hill, Student Involvement

Most Valuable Player:

Nick Wiard, Student Conduct

Torey Palmer, Parent & Family Programs

Roy Smith, Property Management

Graduate Assistant: Bridget Nelson, Health Promotion & Wellness Services

Supervisor of the Year: Maureen Young, University Housing

Student Affairs Senior Vice President Award for Excellence: Dr. Doug Hankes, Student Counseling & Psychological Services

Carter Wilson Memorial Scholarship Grant

The Carter Wilson Memorial Scholarship Grant was established to honor the memory of former Auburn Student, Carter Wilson. Carter loved Auburn and was known for his compassion for others. In recognition of his legacy, this scholarship grant is given to a student with an unexpected financial hardship that may not be able to continue at Auburn without the assistance of Auburn Cares. The recipient is selected by Auburn Cares in consultation with the Senior Vice President of Student Affairs.

Connect With Us

Last modified: 02/08/2022