2016 Involvement Awards Honor Students & Organizations

_AUB8817Student Affairs, the Office of Student Involvement and the Auburn University Involvement Ambassadors hosted the fourth annual Involvement Awards on Thursday, April 22, 2016. Held in the Student Center Ballroom, complete with a red carpet, this annual awards ceremony honors student leaders and student organizations for their service, commitment and accomplishments throughout the last year.

The recipients of the 12 awards, including male student leader of the year, female student leader of the year and exceptional campus organization, are kept confidential until they are announced at the event. The awards also honor a staff member as Organization Advisor of the Year, an award that was named this year in honor of Corey Edwards, director of Student Involvement, and his 10 years of dedication to Auburn University students. The award was endowed for $25,000 by friends and family of Corey and Auburn alumni.

_AUB8744“I’m overwhelmed. The support of my friends, family and former students means so much to me,” said Edwards. “I am passionate about working at Auburn and serving students and I have loved my time at Auburn. I’m looking forward to continuing to do what I love– working with students at Auburn.”

The recipient of the Corey Edwards Organization Advisor of the Year Award was Nels Madsen, advisor to the National Society of Black Engineers. John McNeill, president of AU Dance Marathon, was named Male Student Leader of the Year, and Jamie McClintock, editor-in-chief of The Auburn Circle literary magazine, was named Female Student Leader of the Year. This year’s recipient of Exceptional Campus Organization was Freshman Leadership Program. The full list of award recipients are below.

The Office of Student Involvement received 118 nominations for the awards, and 70 of those were selected as finalists to attend the 2016 ceremony. In the last academic year, 15,411 Auburn students were involved in an organization with 445 faculty or staff advisors.

“The Involvement Awards has grown into something truly remarkable and it is something our students look forward to each year,” said John Michael Roehm, the advisor to Student Organizations in the Office of Student Involvement. “The program allows us to recognize a variety of student organizations across campus and celebrate student accomplishments.”

2016 Involvement Award Winners

Exceptional Campus Organization
Freshman Leadership Program

Excellence in Marketing & Design
Auburn University Dance Marathon

Excellence in Practical Application
Crop, Soil, and Environmental Science Club

The Charlene & Fred Kam “Human Touch” Service Award
Active Minds

Male Student Leader of the Year
John McNiell

Female Student Leader of the Year
Jamie McClintock

Most Entertaining Campus Event-
Auburn Feud by Eagle Eye TV

The Corey Edwards Organization Advisor of the Year
Nels Madsen

Outstanding Cultural Impact-
Muslim Student Association

Outstanding Incorporation of Diversity & Inclusion-

New Organization of the Year-

Overcoming Adversity Award-
High School Leadership Conference

For more photos and information on the Involvement Awards, please click here. For more information about the Office of Student Involvement, please visit www.auburn.edu/involvement.

Last modified: 07/01/2016